After You

Caution, this review contains spoilers for Me Before You!!!

Today I thought I’d share with you my thoughts on the latest book I’ve read. It’s taken me a while, but I’ve finally finished “After You”, the sequel to Me Before You.

After You takes place a couple of years after Will has passed away at the end of Me Before You. Lou is now working in a bar in an airport in London, not really “living” life. She’s still grieving the loss of Will, then one day Will’s daughter turns up on her doorstep. Following her own accident Lou starts to change her life and pick up the pieces of Will’s daughter’s life. Then along comes Sam, a paramedic who Lou falls in love with. But is she ready to move on?

I enjoyed this book for the most part and I think it is a great sequel to Me Before You. A lot of the time you get disappointing sequels, but this wasn’t! The characters are just as good as the first book and it is a really good storyline. Plus we get to see how Will’s mum and dad have got on since he ended his life.

All in all this was a great book and not at all disappointing which I know some people are concerned about with sequels to books such as Me Before You. If you’ve read (or seen) and enjoyed Me Before You and want to know what happens to everyone following Will’s death I recommend this book to you.

8 thoughts on “After You

  1. I loved ‘After you’ so much. I know so many people who stopped reading it after a few chapters because they didn’t like it, but I loved the story. I loved how real it was. Great review! Xx

    • I wasn’t sure what I’d make of Me Before You. I think it was one of those rare moments where I was glad to have seen the film before reading the book so I knew what to expect ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I was so dissapointed with this sequel but I did finish reading it just because I had to know what happened in the end. I think it was because I felt as though we had been cut off for a while, I wanted to know about the funeral, about Lou’s travels and her healing process etc. It felt like it just jumped forward to a completely different story. Glad you enjoyed it though! xx

    • I was a bit concerned when I got a couple of chapters in and Lou had her accident. I was thinking “this had better not be role reversal or something”. To be honest I thought it would be more about the immediate time afterwards too, but it was ok in the end ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment