Me Before You

I’d known about “Me Before You” for quite a while but was never too sure about picking up the book to read, despite Amazon constantly telling me that I’d like it based on other books that I’d read. But in the summer I finally decided to buy it with the intention of reading it before going to see the film… But that didn’t happen! I think I was too engrossed in reading another book and didn’t have the chance to read it before seeing the film.

I don’t really like going to see films before having read the book because I find it then taints my expectations when I actually start reading the book. You instantly start making comparisons and every character looks like the character that you have seen in the film, not one that you make up in your imagination. But anyway, all through the book I was incredibly pleased to see that the film was incredibly true to the book! So that’s a good start!

Will was involved in an accident two years ago and since then he has been stuck in a wheelchair. Louisa has lost her job working in a cafe and desperate to find a job quickly, she amazingly finds herself the job working for Will as his companion.

But as it comes to light the real reason that Lou is working for Will, her role takes on a very different meaning and she does all that she possibly can to make Will change his mind… But then love gets in the way.

I really liked “Me Before You”. It is the first book by Jojo Moyes that I’ve ever read, and for that reason I was a bit unsure what I’d make of it to begin with, but I definitely wasn’t let down! I think having seen the film before reading the book allowed me not to get so emotional during reading as I already knew what was going to happen. But I really enjoyed it.

I think Lou and Will were wonderfully written as characters and I felt that I could relate to Lou quite a lot which made for easier reading. The plot was good – but I don’t feel I can really comment on that having seen the film first! But Jojo Moyes did an excellent job of tackling such a difficult and taboo subject and I really admire her for this.

I really loved this book and have picked up the sequel to it this week so I’m really looking forward to reading that, as well as discovering what other books Jojo Moyes has written. If you have any recommendations for good books by her then please do let me know 🙂

One thought on “Me Before You

Leave a Reply

