Cook With Me #1 : Chilli

Making a batch of chilli (or bolognaise) is something I do pretty regularly at university, as it is pretty cheap, quick and simple to make and I can freeze it in to individual portions and take them out the night before I want them for a quick, easy meal.

photo-26-02-2017-11-52-11

This recipe is a slight modification to the one found the book Nadiya’s Kitchen, and I love it! 🙂

Ingredients (makes 4 servings):

  • 500g minced beef
  • 1 onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • Handful (4-5) mushrooms
  • Carton of Passata (500g)
  • 1 tin red kidney beans (drained and rinsed)
  • Tomato Puree (optional – I like things quite tomatoey so like to put it in)
  • 1 tsp chilli powder (I use mild chilli powder)
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • Rice, Tortilla wraps (for making it in to burritos) or a jacket potato or whatever else you wish to serve it with
  1. Brown the Minced Beef in a large pan with some oil (I use vegetable oil)
  2. While the mince if browning, chop up the onion and crush the garlicphoto-26-02-2017-12-07-15
  3. Once brown, add the onion and garlic to the pan. Drain and rinse the kidney beans and add them to the pan.photo-26-02-2017-12-11-32
  4. Chop up the mushrooms, add to the pan, along with the passata, tomato puree, and spices (and salt/pepper if you wish – I rarely use salt or pepper in my cooking).photo-26-02-2017-12-15-37
  5. Let it simmer for a while then serve with rice/potato/wraps.

Like I said, I portion this up and freeze some when it is cool. I think it probably costs less than £5 to make (assuming you have the spices, tomato puree and rice accompaniment already as store cupboard ingredients). photo-26-02-2017-12-22-56

If you have a try at making this, let me know 🙂 What is your favourite food to make?

11 thoughts on “Cook With Me #1 : Chilli

  1. Whenever I have minced bees it’s always bolognese or chilli! And like you said, I love the fact that you can cook it in batches and freeze it and it’s quite cheap to make! 🙂 Monica x

Leave a comment