My Tips for Success at University

I’ve been struggling a little bit to think of ideas for blogging at the moment. Also I’m busy trying to work on my dissertation that blogging has kind of taken a back seat. I asked my friend what I could blog about today and we picked “study tips”. I suppose it makes sense with the new university term coming up soonish, so today I’m going to share with you some of my tips for staying on track at university! πŸ™‚

1. Stay on Top of Lecture Notes

Trust me, this will make it so much easier when it comes to exams. I know it can be tempting not to write up lectures straight away but actually it really helps. You’re more likely to remember what has been said in the lectures the sooner you write up your notes. It’ll also save you a lot of time and panic when it comes to exams!

2. Make Good use of Stationery

We’re talking project books, highlighters, coloured pens, files etc. whatever takes your fancy. Having nice stationery may motivate you to stay on task πŸ™‚ Also, using coloured pens and highlighters can really enhance your notes!

3. Don’t Scrimp!

When you’re a student it is easy enough to fall in to buying the cheapest things possible… Well for some people anyway! Money can be a concern when you’re a student but there are some things you just shouldn’t buy cheap. My biggest one is refill paper, it’s got to stand up to the wear and tear of flicking through your work, so try to go for 80gsm paper. Also, pens. You want pens that are comfortable to write with that you know you’ll be able to use for hours on end. Some people may be able to do this with your standard value biro, but I can’t!

4. Write

Yes, I mean get your pen out! So many people rely on technology and type notes these days. Do you really learn by writing your notes on the laptop? Do you really take it in? I know I don’t! Plus, you actually need to be able to write legibly, don’t forget you won’t be able to type your answers in exams (not in 2nd and 3rd year anyway). So could you really write for 3 hours if you never write anything by hand? No? I don’t think so.Photo 08-08-2017, 19 36 07

5.Don’t Fall in to the First Year Trap of “it doesn’t matter”

Actually, it really does matter. Sometimes decisions are made during second year about project supervisors or who gets first choice on field trips, and they’ll probably look at your first year performance. So your first year does count! Also, get in to the habit of working hard, it’ll help in the long run.

6. Don’t Throw Notes Away

So many people throw away and delete lectures. Don’t! You’re paying Β£9000 for them so why would you throw it all away! They’ll probably comes in useful again at some point. Like I’ve looked back at my old notes so many times this year while doing my masters!

7. Get on with AssignmentsΒ 

So many people leave assignments to the last minute. Don’t! Get on with them as soon as you can, that way if you’re stuck or have problems you have time to ask for help. Also, if you’re unexpectedly ill the week before deadline you won’t be panicking about asking for an extension, because you’ll have got the majority of the work done.

8. Don’t be Afraid to Ask for Help

Your lecturers are there for you and want you to do well. If you’re stuck, let them know you’re stuck, don’t suffer in silence. They want to help. Also, when you leave uni and start looking for a job the chances are your tutor or other lecturers will be your reference. So it helps both you and them if you talk to them!

9. Plan and OrganiseΒ 

Buy yourself a diary, or a wall planner or whatever it takes. But make sure you write down important deadlines and make plans to get your work done. It may also help you to have a clear idea of what you want to achieve for the day when you start studying!

10. Treat Yourself

So you’ve done all the above? You’re already way ahead of everyone else. Remember it is OK to have a day, or evening off. Treat yourself. Although going to uni is about getting your degree, it is also about learning about yourself. So don’t be afraid to have an evening off, go home or spend time with friends.

 

27 thoughts on “My Tips for Success at University

  1. I had so many notes, I did have to start purging by my 3rd year 😦 However, North American universities are typically in the liberal arts style, where roughly a third of your degree isn’t related to your major! I kept all of my history notes and got rid of the math/science that weren’t relevant!

    • That’s true. Obviously through away what’s not relevant πŸ˜‰ I also have power points of all my lectures on my laptop but so many people who I went to uni with deleted them. Now they’re doing jobs that need that knowledge so they’re coming on the Facebook group asking for copies of the work πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

  2. Your notes are so, so neat!! My were scribbles for history and just pages and pages practising kanji for Japanese!!

    Excellent tips anyway!! ❀

  3. My notes are electronic only as my handwriting is so bad I’ll never be able to read them otherwise! Unfortunately I lost all my notes when my hard drive crashed from undergrad. Wish I still had them!

    • Haha πŸ™‚ I know everyone works differently so if typing your notes works for you then obviously keep going πŸ˜€ I’m always terrified of losing my work! I have them on my laptop and 2 external hard drives so I hope I don’t lose them. I saved my dissertation draft in 4 places tonight cause I’m so paranoid XD

  4. I love what you said about note-taking! While some claim its easier than handwriting notes I never seem to retain the information as well when I type it! What I’ve found to help is writing the lecture notes during class then typing them up on my laptop afterwards!

    • It is whatever works best for you πŸ™‚ I know people who used to take their laptops into lectures and all you’d see them doing was going on Facebook or doing other things. The only time I type things is obviously for assignments, but also if I’m reading journal papers and need to read a lot because it’s quicker. But then I can also use the search bar for easily finding things again in the notes.

  5. Great post!
    All of this is so true. I made the mistake of ‘first year doesn’t count’ and regretted that. So if I was to go back, I would have put a lot of effort into first year as would have helped with 2nd and 3rd.
    Also have to write in a notepad! Get too distracted with taking notes on a laptop.
    Feel free to check out my blog ox

  6. Great Post! I too made the same mistake of first year doesn’t count and I am paying for it now for sure! I am about to start my third year of university! This definitely had some awesome tips! Check out my blog too and let me know what you think I’d love to hear from you! πŸ™‚

  7. Great advice. And your notes are remarkably neat. They are also colourful and have some visual aid. So I do agree that getting a pen out is way better than typing out notes. Plus the gesture of handwriting makes me actually retain the concepts better

Leave a Reply

