Camping Essentials

The majority of the holidays I’ve been on, until I was 16 have been camping holidays. Pretty much every year we’d go camping on one big summer holiday, usually to France or Germany, as well as camping most weekends through May to July. I’d never really experienced a holiday staying in a hotel until I went to New York!

I was away camping last weekend so today I’d thought I’d share with you some of my camping essentials! Firstly I’ll point out however that our camping has mostly always been in a folding camper/trailer tent so it’s a little more comfortable than “proper” camping!

1.Microfibre Towel

Mountain Warehouse

A Microfibre towel dries so much quicker than a normal towel and you can get them in different sizes. Plus they fold down really small 🙂 OK they aren’t nice to snuggle in to once you’ve come out the shower, but they dry quickly and take up next to no space.

2. Blanket

Nights can get cold when you’re camping, so a blanket and extra layers for night can be a help if you want a good sleep!

3. Hand Gel

photo-23-07-2017-17-39-50.jpgCause you know, campsite toilets can be a bit… yeah! Also because camping can just feel a bit dirty! I’m using the Carex Moisture plus hand gel at the moment, I find it dries my hands out less.

4. Dry Shampoo!

Photo 23-07-2017, 17 40 35I forgot to take some with me last weekend though and I really really regretted it. My hair needed washing but the showers were cold. I just couldn’t bring myself to wash my hair in cold water! I use the original Batiste dry shampoo 🙂 They also come in a travel mini size which may be more convenient for you! I want to try some of the Zerreau no wash shampoo (if anyone has tried it please do share your experience!) 🙂

5. Flip Flops

I’m actually a Crocs kind of girl. Yes judge me all you want! But I adore my Crocs. They’re so comfy! Anyway, Crocs/flip flops = essential in campsite showers and are just easy to slide on and off!

6. Wipesphoto-23-07-2017-17-40-59.jpg

I mainly use these for cleaning my hands after putting sun cream on when I’m out and about. But wipes are very useful!

7. Sun Cream

Photo 23-07-2017, 17 41 32I’m ginger and have pale skin so I burn incredibly easily. Hence the factor 50+ kids stuff. I use the Boots Kids Play 8h protection sun cream, which really works. I’ve been using it for years and have never been burnt while using it. I also take a “normal” sun cream because although the 8h protection is great it is very thick and a bit of a pain to rub in. So I use the Nivea stuff as a top up cream or just something if I’m only out for a couple of hours. I honestly really do recommend the Boots Kids Play though!

8. Blister Plasters

photo-23-07-2017-17-41-10.jpgA selection of blister plasters won’t go amiss. I took the toe ones too and I’m glad I did as I had a huge blister on my toe last weekend!

9. Lip Balm

photo-23-07-2017-17-40-09.jpgI actually took the Carmex Cherry with SPF 15 in, but lip balm is definitely an essential. Especially if your lips get burnt!

10. Moisturiser

Photo 23-07-2017, 17 42 02Camping can dry your skin out. Especially if you’re like me and suffer from eczema. The grass at the campsite we were at dried my skin out a lot, and combined with being outside just made me appreciate moisturiser. Yes I know again this is a kids product, but it is great for people with eczema as it doesn’t irritate. Plus it smells wonderful!

Are any of these products in your holiday/travel bag? Did you forget anything last time you went away and regret it?  🙂

I hope you enjoyed today’s post and I’ll see you again soon 😀

 

 

3 thoughts on “Camping Essentials

      • They really shouldn’t have!!
        You might need to get some of those hiking socks that grip your feet in the middle. I find they really, really help!

Leave a Reply

