Doctor Who Experience!

A few weeks ago I saw on Facebook that the Doctor Who experience in Cardiff was selling tickets to go on a TARDIS and Doctor Who set tour. I wasn’t too sure about going as I’d been to the Experience already in December and I knew it wouldn’t have changed much. But as the Doctor Who experience is sadly closing in the summer, and as I am quite conveniently placed to get there, I decided this would be my best and if not only opportunity to do so. Plus my parents were visiting me that weekend so they could collect me from Cardiff on the way to Swansea.

The Doctor Who Experience is basically where you can go to see many of the costumes and props used in the Doctor Who series, ranging from the recent back to the classic series. It is a great visit if you’re in the area, and the start of your trip to the Experience will definitely be memorable (but I won’t ruin it for anyone who hasn’t been/wants to go).

I thought I’d show you some of my favourite parts from the Experience part before telling you about the studio tour.

IMG_4220

As you can see there is a reasonable amount to see! 🙂

After I’d had a wander around the Experience it was time for the tour of the TARDIS set. This was great. You had to book especially on to the tour and there were about 20 of us, but they split us up into smaller groups when we got to the set.

After going through security we entered the BBC Roath Lock Studios, where several of BBC’s well known TV shows are recorded, including Casualty which I think we saw being filmed!

Once inside the Doctor Who studio we were given the chance to look round the TARDIS set and a couple of other bits while being given an insight into how everything works and how filming in the TARDIS set works, It was fascinating! I’m not sure I’ll ever look at a scene on the TARDIS again in the same way! 😀

IMG_4256

It was great fun and really interesting 🙂 And I really recommend going for a TARDIS tour if the opportunity for doing so ever arises again! 🙂

I hope you enjoyed today’s post and I’ll see you again soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “Doctor Who Experience!

Leave a Reply

