Billy and Me

The chances are you’ll have heard me talk about “Billy and Me” before. If I’ve told you what my favourite book is, or I’ve recommended a book to you, I may well have recommended this. Since I read this before I was blogging I decided it was time to pick it up again and read it so I could share it with you on here.

“Billy and Me” is written by Giovanna Fletcher, wife of Tom Fletcher from McFly/also an author himself. Many people think that Gi just gets her fame from who her husband is, but they’re wrong. She actually writes great chick-lit books. OK, some of them haven’t been as great as others, but the “Billy and Me” series (Billy and Me, Christmas With Billy and Me and Always With Love) is definitely her best.

I was first recommended Billy and Me by a friend who had also read and enjoyed it, I had a look on Amazon, loved the sound of it so ordered it.

Sophie May lives at home with her mum in a quiet little village where everyone knows everyone. She works in the little teashop in the village with her friend Molly, until one day a filming crew turns up to film a new version of Pride and Prejudice. Sophie goes about her day as usual, when Billy Buskin (the star of the film) walks in and befriends Sophie, and before long they’re going on their first date and have fallen for each other. But after time Billy has to move back to London for his next project and Sophie moves with him. But will Billy stay by Sophie’s side or will the fame get to him?

I absolutely adore this book. It is one of the cutest, soppiest, easiest books I’ve ever read. Gi does such a fantastic job of shaping the characters making them all incredibly lovable and easy to relate to. Yes, OK many people think it is just your typical silly boy meets girl love story but I love it. I think there is so much more to it than that. You see the perceptions of a “normal” girl as she enters the world of fame, as well as Billy trying to stay down to earth for Sophie, as well as all the negative press that goes along with someone “famous” dating someone “normal” if that made any sense?!

Billy and Me has a lovely storyline and yes some may say it is a little predictable but aren’t all chick lits?! Billy and Me is just a wonderful book where Gi has tried to create a really down to earth, caring Billy who isn’t phased by Sophie and her anxiety, which I think is fantastic to see!

Basically I think everyone should read this book, and the sequels that go with it! If you do decide to give this a read, please do let me know what you think of it as I’d love to see if other people love it as much as I do! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Billy and Me

Leave a Reply

