University Field Trips

One of the great things about studying an environmental science is that you get plenty of opportunities to get outside and see the world! It is great fun learning about nature, especially if it’s a lovely sunny day. The past 3 days I’ve been out on field trips, so I thought I’d share with you what was in my bag, as well as some photos about the sites! 🙂

Obviously the contents of my bag would be different had the weather been really bad, but we were lucky enough that the weather was great for us! 🙂

Photo 03-05-2017, 07 50 16

What’s in my bag:

  • Extra jumper in case it gets cold
  • Waterproof trousers (just in case! This is Wales!)
  • Clipboard and pencils
  • Waterproof bag cover (again, just in case)
  • Water bottle (1L as we’re out all day)
  • Packed lunch (the most important part of the day)!
  • Suncream (I’ve only got a small bottle here as I’ve been putting on my thick 8h protection cream in the mornings, so this is just to top up if I need to)
  • Sun hat
  • Waterproof/Windproof coat
  • Tree/flower ID guides

So where did we go?

The first day we went to some woodland (Park Woods) on the Gower in Swansea.

Photo 03-05-2017, 11 33 20Photo 03-05-2017, 15 27 21

Day two, we went to what is known as Waterfall Country in Neath Valley. Where as the name suggests, we saw some waterfalls!

Photo 04-05-2017, 13 45 35Photo 04-05-2017, 11 32 29

And finally on the last day, we visited a conifer plantation in Neath Valley, which wasn’t anywhere near as pretty or picturesque as the first two days! But nevertheless it was lovely weather! 🙂

So there we have it, a quick insight into my uni field trips and field work!

I apologise that I’m a bit rubbish at reading posts at the moment too I’m in the middle of an incredibly busy time with my Masters with coursework and revision and prepping for my research project so I don’t know how much I’ll be around on here for the next month or so, but I’ll do what I can! 🙂

See you again soon! 🙂

2 thoughts on “University Field Trips

Leave a Reply

