Cook with Me #3: Tomato Butterbeans

Today I thought I’d show you another one of my favourite cheap, quick, easy and yummy meals to make!

I’d never had butterbeans until about a year ago, but I love them now! All in all (assuming you have the store cupboard staples: rice, garlic, herbs) this costs less than £1 to make for 2 meals! :O

I apologise for the quality of the photos, one of my flatmates was in the kitchen at the same time and was looking at me weird for taking photos!

Ingredients:

1 Onion (I have 2 here as I love onions and they’re quite small)

2 cloves garlic

1 tin butter beans (drained)

1 tin chopped tomatoes

Some tomato puree

Oregano

Garlic granules

Rice (to serve)

Photo 02-04-2017, 17 00 25

  1. Chop the onion and crush the garlic and add to a pan with a little oil. Lightly fry until the onion is soft.Photo 02-04-2017, 17 07 39
  2. At the same time, set a pan of water boiling for the rice, and cook the rice.
  3. Once soft, add the chopped tomatoes, butter beans, herbs, and tomato puree and simmer until the rice is cooked. Photo 02-04-2017, 17 11 36And there we have it, a quick simple and yummy meal, which I serve with rice (and I had a naan bread in the freezer which needed using and I really fancied it so I had that with it too yesterday) .

Photo 02-04-2017, 17 24 40

7 thoughts on “Cook with Me #3: Tomato Butterbeans

Leave a Reply

