Bake With Me #1 – Chocolate Mug Cake

The last couple of weeks at uni I’ve really fancied making a cake… But I don’t have anything here so decided to reach a compromise and try making a mug cake!

I’ve never made a mug cake before (I’m not sure why) so this is my first ever attempt and I’m proud to say it didn’t explode!

I used the chocolate cake recipe from here 🙂

You’ll need:

30g butter

30g milk chocolate

1 egg

2 tbsp caster sugar (although I used granulated sugar)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

4 1/2 tbsp plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

A mug that holds at least 350ml!

Photo 20-03-2017, 14 29 45

  1. In the mug melt together the chocolate and butter (about 30 seconds) and then mix together with a fork until smooth. Photo 20-03-2017, 14 31 08
  2. Allow the mixture to cool slightly so you don’t scramble the egg when you add it!
  3. One by one, add the egg, sugar, vanilla extract, flour and baking powder, mixing after adding each ingredient.
  4. Mix well, but not too much! And then microwave for around 1 min 30, but don’t be tempted to overcook it.

Photo 20-03-2017, 14 31 08

I microwaved mine with the mug standing inside the bowl to make it easier to clean up if it overflowed! You can check it is cooked by sticking a knife in the middle.

Photo 20-03-2017, 14 41 18

So it doesn’t look that good, but it tasted great. If it anything it was a little dry, but I think that’s because I overcooked it. But nothing that some cream/ice cream/custard/chocolate sauce wouldn’t sort out!

Also it’s one heck of a lot of cake! I struggled to finish it all!

Have you ever tried making a mug cake? If so how did you get on? 🙂 Or if you try this recipe let me know how you get on too 🙂

See you again soon! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Bake With Me #1 – Chocolate Mug Cake

  1. I love, love, LOVE mug cakes – they’re a go to during winter for me. totally feel you, though – the temptation to overcook it is SO STRONG because even when they’re done they still look like batter, which can be confusing! ;-; great post!x

Leave a Reply

