All The Bright Places

I picked this book up last summer as it was part of Zoella’s book club she did with WH Smith. I thought it would be a great book… But how wrong was I?! It’s taken me quite a while to finish this book, partly because I’ve been so busy with uni I haven’t had much time, but also because I didn’t like it…

Violet meets Finch. Both are completely messed up, Violet has lost her sister and Finch has had an unhappy upbringing. They meet at the top of the school bell tower where they talk each other down from jumping. Together they go on an adventure to see new things, to see all the places that their US state has to offer. But as Violet sees the light and her life gets better, Finch goes downhill…

I think you’ll get aΒ major spoiler from what I’m saying here, but I just assumed this would be a “and they all lived happily ever after” book. I mean boy meets girl, girl saves boy from depression and suicide. But no… It deeply shocked me actually and I hated the last few chapters. I mean Finch obviously loved Violet so why the hell did he do what he did at the end. Yes I know full well what depression can do to someone (having watched a couple of family members go through it), but it really shocked me. I suppose it just shocked me because I thought the author could have given the same message in a different/better way at the end.

In terms of characters I liked Violet, and I mostly liked Finch… until the end anyway! But it made me so cross that even though Finch was seeing his school councillor, who knew full well that things weren’t right… He made no real attempt to get him help, which is so negligent. I think that’s what annoys me about this book!

Anyway, basically I didn’t enjoy this book and it was a real struggle to read it through to the end. I know people talk about how good it is, but it really wasn’t for me.

Have you read this book? What did you think?

10 thoughts on “All The Bright Places

  1. I tried to read this book but didn’t like it so eventually I gave up…. :/ But I liked your review.
    Btw, does anyone know any blogs which are dedicated to book reviews? I’m new around here πŸ™‚ Thank you xx

    • I do book reviews πŸ™‚ it’s only recently that I’ve started doing other things too πŸ™‚ I upload reviews as soon as I finish reading books in amongst my other stuff πŸ™‚

      • Perfect! πŸ™‚ I’m following you now, although first I couldn’t find the Follow button but now I’ve got it ❀

Leave a Reply

