90th Birthday Celebrations

Last weekend I headed home to celebrate my Grandad’s 90th birthday with my family. Although it is my dad’s dad who turned 90, both me and mum were quite happy to make it a real celebration with cake, badges and balloons.

photo-11-02-2017-18-40-44

Next I was tasked with making a cake! I wanted it to be a special cake, I mean you only turn 90 once and it was quite a big celebration… so it called for a big cake! In the week leading up to going home I’d decided I wanted to try and pick up a “Wilton Countless Celebrations Letter and Number Cake Pan Set” from Hobbycraft. Yes it was quite expensive, BUT it allows me to make any combination of numbers and letters and I knew I could use it again in the future.

The next problem? I’ve never made any cake as big as this before so I had no idea about what quantities I needed for the cake, but I managed to find this recipeย to go from (which wasย roughly the same size as the Wilton cake tin). Then I decided the cakes would be a lemon cake with lemon buttercream and a raspberry cake with white chocolate buttercream.

I finally got to wear my new Cath Kidston Mickey Mouse apron! My first issue however was making sure I greased the cake tin enough to prevent the cake sticking to the tin as slotting the extra bits in means you can’t use baking paper! Thankfully both cakes came out without breaking! I could have cried I was so happy they both came out in one piece!

I used Storkย to make this cake, which I don’t often use. But it worked out much cheaper to use Stork than to use real butter with the quantities I was making.

After making the basic mixture I added lemon zest and the juice of a lemon for the lemon cake, and raspberries for the raspberry cake.

After about 30 mins the cake was ready. Sadly it caught a bit on the corner (because our oven at home is a bit rubbish) but I was trimming it down so it didn’t matter too much!

Once I’d got the 9 cooled and out the tin it was time to make the number 0, which again caught a bit, but I trimmed it off so it didn’t matter!

Then it was time to ice! Let me set this straight I’m rubbish at icing cakes! Especially ones where you have to seal the crumbs of the cake in the icing! The crumbs kept coming off and it was so annoying because I just couldn’t seal them in very well! I also wasn’t overly sure what I wanted the cake to look like once I’d decorated, so I decided to try some piping! It looked a but garish and childish but who cares, it tasted great!

photo-11-02-2017-21-04-58

photo-11-02-2017-21-16-57photo-11-02-2017-21-54-47

photo-11-02-2017-22-16-22
The finished product

It took me about 6 hours but I finished it! It is the biggest cake I’ve ever made (so far) (it was on a 16 inch cake board), but it tasted amazing! And the best bit was my grandad was so touched that I’d made it myself and he loved it.

Lastly I thought I’d share a quick photo of what I wore to my grandad’s party.

photo-12-02-2017-11-00-28

The dress was from Cath Kidston a couple of years ago. I decided to wear a long sleeved white t-shirt underneath it as it was too cold to go without! Also I decided to wear leggings with it this time rather than tights as again it was too cold outside!

It’s a bit of a longer post today, but I hope you enjoyed it! ๐Ÿ™‚

See you again soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “90th Birthday Celebrations

Leave a Reply

