Scrappy Little Nobody

I first knew about this book when AnHistorianAboutTown spoke about it in one of her blogs, but apart from that I had no idea that it had come out! I then asked for it for Christmas and my brother bought it for me.

Firstly I’ll say that I like Anna Kendrick in the films of hers I’ve watched (Into the Woods, Twilight and Pitch Perfect) but I’m not an Anna Kendrick super fan by any means! But I do love her incredibly witty tweets!

In this book Anna Kendrick takes us through her life (so far) of how she’s always been witty, struggled to keep her head above the water while pursuing her acting career, and… small. From child Broadway star to now famous Movie Star, this book gives us an idea of the trials that Anna Kendrick has faced to get to where she is now.

I won’t say that I loved this book. I mean there were parts that kept me reading, but other parts I found quite, well… strange! I find it a bit weird when people as young as Anna Kendrick write autobiographies… I mean there isn’t that much to cover really (although now I’ve just looked up how old she is and she’s older than I realised)! I’m not saying it is a bad read, in fact I think it would be a great read to anyone wanting and trying to make a break in the acting world, in the sense that I think it would motivate people not to give up.

There were parts were I couldn’t stop myself from laughing and it was mostly an enjoyable read. I’d say it is a good read if you want to know more about Anna Kendrick’s rise to fame, but don’t expect to hear about loads and loads of things that have happened in her life! And if like me you expected to read quite a lot about Pitch Perfect, then you’ll be disappointed!

Have you read this book? If so what did you think?

4 thoughts on “Scrappy Little Nobody

Leave a Reply

