Girl Online

I’ll start off by saying that I am definitely not the “target audience” for this book and it is definitely aimed at teenagers, but I still loved it. I wouldn’t say I am a fan of Zoella either as I have only recently discovered her, but after my exams I fancied picking up some new books and this one was in Amazon’s 3 paperbacks for £10 offer, so I thought I’d give it a go.

I know there is a lot of controversy surrounding this book and whether Zoella actually wrote it herself, but whoever did write it I absolutely loved it.

Penny is your average 16 year old in her final year of school. She’s close to her family and just wants to be a normal teenager. But her anxiety often gets the better of her, and she begins to struggle with day to day life. She takes comfort in her anonymous blog, where she shares her thoughts and feelings about being a teenager. When Penny’s mum’s work takes them to New York, Penny’s life changes when she meets Noah, but Noah has a secret that he hasn’t told Penny and soon everything changes for Penny.

I honestly adored this book. It was really cute. Your typical young adult chick-lit book, girl meets boy etc., but I loved it (so much so I’ve bought the second book in the series)! The characters are great and I love how at the end of the day family is everything, and how Penny as a character reflects how every teenager probably feels. Which I suppose is what Zoella is trying to get across to her readers, that being a teenager isn’t easy and it is OK to feel worried and anxious.

It wasn’t *that* predictable either which was great and it really did keep me reading.

All in all this is a good book, and I’d say anyone who likes chick-lit books will enjoy it.

5 thoughts on “Girl Online

Leave a Reply

