The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

“Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Syndrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings. He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour’s dog murdered he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down.”

I fist picked up this book about 10 years ago as it was one of the books that was read at the bookclub I was in at school. But I didn’t like it. I really really struggled with it and gave up, but it has always been a book that I’ve wanted to come back to.

I think initially I didn’t understand the book, I didn’t understand why it was written in the way it was… But now I do. After last year I have a better understanding and knowledge of why the book is like it is and Mark Haddon has done an excellent job with the book.

I’m sad to see that it only has a rating of 3 stars on Goodreads, but I guess that’s because people just read it… they don’t understand it or why it is written like it is.

I don’t really know what else to say apart from Mark Haddon has done such a fantastic job writing as Christopher and a lot of research must have gone in to it, and I am so glad I’ve picked it up again now that I understand it better. I definitely recommend this book to anyone know wants to know more about Autism/Aspergers/ASD, you just need to be patient and give it a chance and think about it all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

