Always With Love

So it has been a little while since I last wrote a blog on here. Not because I haven’t been reading anything, but purely because what I have been reading I haven’t thought was worth a review. So since writing my last review on “The Secrets of Happiness” I have read:

  • A Recipe For Life – Mary Berry
  • Harry Potter and the Philosphers Stone – The illustrated edition
  • Travelling to Infinity – Jane Hawking
  • The Story of Tracy Beaker – Jacqueline Wilson

And now I have just finished reading “Always with Love” by Giovanna Fletcher.

For me it is such a special moment receiving the latest book of an author like Gi who writes one book (and more recently, one novella) every year. So having previously read her other novels I was looking forward to more. One book in particular left me wanting more – “Billy and Me”.

I was so sad when I got to the end of “Billy and Me” and I was desperate to read more about Sophie and Billy! So when “Christmas With Billy and Me” came out I was excited and again couldn’t wait for more. And now we have it “Always with Love”.

Sophie and Billy Buskin are in a relationship. Billy is a world famous film star who is on a break to give up time to spend with Sophie. Sophie owns and runs a little tea shop in her home town of Rosefont Hill, but when Sophie and Billy decide to take a trip over to L.A. so that Sophie can finally meet Billy’s family, everything changes. What is Billy’s mum playing at? Who are these people Billy is meeting? Does Billy really want to go back to acting so soon? What will happen to Sophie if he does?

When a huge opportunity comes up for Billy to appear in the next big film, Sophie has to return to Rosefont Hill alone. But how will their relationship last? Will it stand the strain of over 5,000 miles?

I will start off by saying that I absolutely loved this book. It totally satisfied my need for more of Sophie and Billy in my life (but I won’t lie, I still want more)! I loved all of the characters in the book and the story was absolutely brilliant. The story was so realistic which I really liked. It could be quite easily for an author to write a story that is all happy and that living apart with a long distance relationship is totally easy. But Gi does brilliantly in reflecting all of the strains that a long distance relationship may have. Gi shows that it isn’t all easy and that all couples can have arguments and that is ok. And at the end of the day Gi shows us that it is all about compromise.

The characters are all lovely with Sophie and Billy obviously being my favourites, not forgetting Rachel and the rest of Sophie and Billy’s families! Sometimes with books like these they can be somewhat predictable, but this book was great. I found myself continually surprised by everything that was going on.

All in all I completely adore this book and I have no doubt that I will continue to read it over and over again, along with the other Sophie and Billy stories that Gi has written. I’ve already recommended this book to a friend and I can’t wait to recommend it to many more poelple (including those reading this blog :))!

Please can we have more Billy and Sophie in the future!

3 thoughts on “Always With Love

Leave a Reply

