A Parcel for Anna Browne

I’ve now read 9 books this year and the latest was “A Parcel for Anna Browne” by Miranda Dickinson.

I’ve only ever read one of Miranda Dickinson’s books before – “I’ll Take New York”. As with “I’ll Take New York” “A Parcel for Anna Browne” took some getting in to. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy the book but it hasn’t been one of the best books I’ve ever read for reasons I’ll tell you in a bit.

“A Parcel for Anna Browne” is basically what the title says. Anna Browne is a 30 year old single lady living in London after making an escape from her family in Cornwall several years ago. Anna works as a receptionist for theΒ Daily Messenger a newspaper. After a “work shadowing” event at work Anna finds a new friend Ben. Ben is a well respected member of the newsroom and jealousy surfaces when Anna starts getting close to him.

In amongst Anna’s blossoming relationship with Ben parcels begin showing up for Anna. Anna doesn’t have many friends so she is puzzled as to who the parcels could be from. But as the story progresses is Anna’s relationship with Ben really what she thought it was?

I won’t lie, the start of this story was quite slow. Anna was just receiving parcel after parcel and time was passing and Anna was trying to suss out who was sending her the parcels. It was only sort of 200 pages in to the book that the story began to get exciting! It took me a couple of weeks to read the first 200 pages (because I wasn’t that interested) and then it suddenly picked up and I couldn’t put the book down. I remember this was the same with “I’ll Take New York” though and in the end I did enjoy the book.

I don’t want to say too much about the final 200-300 pages of the book because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone! But it was good and the mystery was finally solved in the final few pages of the book.

I liked the characters, Anna was great, as was Ben, and her two close friends Tish and Jonah. None of the characters got on my neves, nor did I find myself shouting at them inside my head for doing ridiculous things (which is always a good thing)! So the characters worked, and the plot was ok but it just felt like it dragged on an awful lot before it actually picked up.

All in all “A Parcel for Anna Browne” was an OK book. I would’t necessarily rush to recommend it to anyone, but it was another good romance/chick lit style book that I was happy to spend all day curled up with once the story got going!

Leave a Reply

