One Night in Italy

It’s been a little while since a reviewed a book on here, but I’m back with a new one! As I’ve said before life and work have got in the way of reading as much as I would like to but I’ve finally finished another book that I’d like to share with you.

Having only discovered Lucy Diamond back in the summer I was pleased that I had loads of her books to read to catch up with and I’m getting sad now that I am almost at the end of all the Lucy Diamond books that are out at present. After “A Baby at the Beach Cafe” it was time for “One Night in Italy”.

“One Night in Italy” always intrigued me and I couldn’t wait to give it at try, but I decided that I would read the books in order so it had to wait!

“One Night in Italy” introduces us to several characters (so it did get a bit confusing at times) but our main characters are: Anna, Catherine and Sophie.

Sophie has been away travelling for the past 8 years after “falling out” with her parents, but after one of her parents falls gravely ill she rushes home to visit. Initially she lives in a hostel until a lack of money (due to no job) forces her home. Back home she manages to find a job in the local cafe until she lands herself a job as an Italian teacher… It is here that she meets Catherine and Anna.

Anna, a journalist has recently found out that her father that she has never met is Italian. After finding this out she is determined to do anything and everything she can to learn about her possible heritage, including undertaking Italian cookery lessons as well as signing up to Sophie’s Italian classes.

Catherine, a stay at home mother has recently seen her two children off to University. When returning home she finds her husband having an affair which leads to him walking out on her. As Catherine attempts to pick up the fragments of her life she decides to sign up to the Italian class to keep busy.

But what secrets are Catherine’s ex husband hiding, and how does that link to Sophie’s dad getting ill? Will Sophie decide to settle down now she’s back in Sheffield? Is Anna’s father really Italian?

“One Night in Italy” was a really great book. At first it took me a little while to get in to the story and see where possibly the stories could link up (because at first it seemed that all the characters would have no hope in all bumping in to each other)! But once I was in I couldn’t put the book down! It’s amazing how all the stories fit together and I loved all the characters so much.

I absolutely loved the little bit in the story where Catherine dropped absolutely everything after her daughter returned distraught from university. I loved it purely because my mum did exactly the same for me 18 months ago and it shows how many girls mothers are their best friends.

The story was just great, this review really won’t do it justice though! The characters were so lovable and the story was so full of little twists and turns and secrets, most of which I didn’t see coming at all. I would highly recommend this story to anyone who wants a great read. It will make you laugh, and probably make you cry! All in all it’s just another brilliant book from the brilliant Lucy Diamond!

Leave a Reply

