Baking Biscuits

After posting about baking a cheesecake a little while ago I decided to do another baking post! Partly because I enjoy baking but also because it will probably be a little while before I finish the book I’m currently reading so I thought I should do another post to fill the time! 🙂

I’m a big fan of Great British Bake Off (GBBO) and when I saw that Richard Burr (one of the finalists from GBBO 2014) had released a recipe book I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I won’t lie, I’ve had the book since it came out but until yesterday I was yet to try making something from it!

For some strange reason I’ve been interested in trying lemon curd for a little while (it’s something that I never had/tried when I was younger), so a couple of weeks ago I managed to sneak a jar into the weekly online food shop and finally I found a reason to use it! I made lemon star biscuits 🙂

Photo 18-10-2015, 15 31 17

Beating together the butter and sugar…

Photo 18-10-2015, 15 41 00

Adding the eggs, lemon, vanilla and flour…

Photo 18-10-2015, 15 58 42

After rolling out the biscuit dough and leaving it to chill in the fridge for a bit before cutting out the star shapes…

Photo 18-10-2015, 16 55 51

Now this is where it went a bit wrong! Ideally the biscuits should have had a top with a star shape cut out the middle but I struggled with this for several reasons! Firstly the dough was quite sticky so I had trouble lifting out the stars that I’d cut out of the middle and second, I rolled out the biscuits slightly thinner than I should have which made handing the dough very hard!

Anyway, once I’d finally got past that problem it was time for the oven!

Photo 18-10-2015, 16 55 53

The biscuits all baked pretty well. Our oven is old and quite rubbish so some of the biscuits got a bit overdone! But apart from the odd couple, most of the biscuits looked pretty good 🙂

Finally, after cooling I sandwiched two biscuits together with a bit of lemon curd and made super tasty biscuits!

Photo 18-10-2015, 17 44 36

I’m really looking forward to making more of the bakes from the BIY book!

Leave a Reply

