The Morning After Memoirs

Last week I was approached by Ago Publishing and asked if I could read “The Morning After Memoirs” in return for an honest review of the book.

The Morning After Memoirs is Kate Michaels’ debut novel, and provides an enjoyable light read, very much drawing inspiration from Sex and the City.

Reading the blurb on the back of the book we are presented with:

“Twenty-nine-year-old Jess wakes up on New Year’s Day a touch hungover and a whole lot confused. The man in bed next to her is not her boyfriend, Ben. In fact, she doesn’t even remember Not-Ben’s name. It won’t be the first time she finds herself in a questionable situation in a year that proves her new single-in-the-city lifestyle is far from the glamorous, Sex And The City world she’s been promised on TV. Between hacking through last year’s leg hair, accidentally snogging someone who may well be her cousin, getting hit over the head with a sex toy that isn’t even hers, and ending the night with a walk of shame into her parent’s garage, Jess’s single life is turning out more cockroaches than cocktails.”

Firstly from the blurb the book looks like a pretty good read, however I will say that it was quite a “bitty” book and feels like it jumps around an awful lot, and it did take me quite a while to get in to.

However, that said I did enjoy the book. I enjoyed watching Jess re-build her life after her disastrous New Years Eve, moving back home, trying to find a new man, trying to find a new house! Everything changes (dramatically) for Jess within the space of a year.

Overall I loved Jess as a character, even with her alcohol addiction that she appeared to have. Jess was enjoyable to follow, as were her friends. Although I did find myself getting a bit mixed up at times with all Jess’ different friends as I forgot who was who and I would have liked slightly better descriptions of each of the characters! Jess’ family were just annoying, particularly her brother, but they all provided many hilarious moments, particularly her dad and his weird “obsessions”.

All in all this is a good book, my only real dislike was the style of how speech was all within the text, with no new lines for new speakers. So it did get a bit confusing at times and I did have to go back a few times to check I’d read something correctly!

I would happily pick up another book from Kate Michaels in the future, and I would recommend this book to people. It may have taken a little while to get in to, but once I was in I really enjoyed the book, and would hope to see more of Jess in the future!

I would like to thank Laura at Ago Publishing again for allowing me to review this book for them.

Leave a Reply

