The Cake Shop in the Garden

Before picking up this book I’d not read anything by Carole Matthews before, but I absolutely adored this book and I think it is safe to say that I will be picking up some more of her books in the future!

The Cake Shop in the Garden is a great chick lit book and I couldn’t put it down!

We follow Fay in her life running a cake/coffee shop from her garden with her assistant Lija. Along with running her cake shop from the downstairs of her home, Fay has to look after her mother who has, through her own choice, become “bedridden”, when there isn’t really anything wrong with her. On top of this Fay has to help out her sister Edie who is apparently living her dream life in New York, in a relationship of sorts with a man who is married with children. However Fay is having some boyfriend issues of her own, with her relationship with long time partner Anthony on rocks, while the arrival of Danny causes her to question who her future lies with, Anthony or Danny.

When Fay’s mother takes a turn for a worse, Fay finds out several thingsΒ that change her life forever. Where will she live? Who does she actually want to live with for the rest of her life?

This book is a great book to curl up with. The writing is great, the characters are great, and many times I found myself laughing, especially at Lija! Just when you think you know what the ending is going to be it all changes with lots of twists in the plot.

I adored this book, and I’m so glad I stumbled across it while browsing for new books to read on Amazon! My only real criticism is that I don’t really like the short chapter style of this book. Most of the chapters are only 3 or so pages long, which can sometimes make the book feel an awful lot longer than it actually is! But aside from that it is a great book that I would highly recommend!

4 thoughts on “The Cake Shop in the Garden

Leave a Reply

